lost and lonely at the lake

I ran away from home today,
            and no one missed my face.
I drove a hundred miles today,
            and no one knew the place.
 
I sobbed a thousand tears today,
            and no one touched my cheek.
I cried out loud in pain today,
            and no one heard me speak.
 
I was terribly lost and alone today,
            and no one took my hand.
I ached in my heart like no other day,
            and there was no one to understand.
 
 
I whispered “God help me” today,
            and Someone heard my cry.
I breathed His Name on my lips today,
            and Someone heard my sigh.
 
I wandered far from home today,
            and Someone counted the miles.
I was a broken-hearted girl today,
            and Someone knew my trials.

I pleaded, “Daddy, find me here” today,
            and Someone held me close.
I said, “my heart hurts like hell” today,
            and He said, “Daddy knows.”
4 thoughts on “lost and lonely at the lake

    • Aww, thank you so much! You are right. If we really press in and dig deep when we hurt the most, hopefully that is when we learn what we are truly made of – and can potentially heal the most. Thank you for reading…and following! 🙂

Thoughts?

